how does one open their mouth and not come across an idiot?

So, briefly.

I have done a podcast. It was fun. Its no. 43 I suspect I made a fool of myself. Jenny (my better half) is also on the podcast and Mark said it will be up in a few days. I spent a few days afterwards wishing I hadn’t said this or perhaps said more about other stuff, but now I’m just waiting the slaggings. Luckily, I think I muttered characteristically enough so that people will find it difficult to understand anything I said! So in saying that, I was very astute and witty on the podcast, and if you don’t get that, then its your loss.

I realised today why my latte art was going through such a bad patch; I’ve been using around 5 different pitcher designs without knowing it. Now of course I knew they were different designs for the most part, but there are two models in the cafe that are identical at first glance but behave very differently in the pour. I can’t remember the name right now, but its a make that brought out a newer model in the last few weeks. Its good practice I guess, and it’s trained me to pay more attention to the pour and my pour rate. I feel my latte art has definitely gotten better but will post pics for you good people to judge very soon.

Over the next three days, I will be doing a latte art course with Alistair (he makes good coffee) Durie on Wednesday morning, I’m judging at the western canadian regionals on Thursday, and I’m helping out with some basic and advanced barista training courses tomorrow. So I’m a busy chap. I’ll take a lot of photos, and perhaps, if I can muster enough self discipline, I’ll give some daily posts on how things are going. Chat soon folks.

Leave a Reply

