A good day today.

As you know, I’ve been having trouble adapting to the espresso style of Vancouver. Well,… today I popped by the Elysian room just around lunch time. I had a quick chat with the coffeed administrators and barista Matt before I went to see a documentary about Frank Gehry (which was only ok,…i had a bad seat up the front). But anyway, as I was chatting about the unwarranted high price tag of the alessi steaming pitcher, Mattie, came down and gave me an espresso. I didn’t really feel like it, but took it anyway.

In a word, it was perfect. I simpy really really enjoyed it. It was sweet and balanced, but not too heavy. It had wonderful juicy fruit, but wasn’t overly acidic. I told the guys there how good it was pretty much straight away. I really really enjoyed it. I’m probably going back this evening, hoping I’ll get it again. I now have a new standard in the cup to aspire to.

Interestingly, I’ve tasted shots from the same batch of their Hines espresso, made by Mattie on their Linea, and they weren’t nearly as good as this. It was honestly hard to believe it was from the same blend, nevermind the same batch. Was it that particular part of the batch? Did Mattie just nail it? Or was it the machine? For those of you who don’t know, the Elysian room is now operating off a Synesso……Telling?

check my flickr for some of today’s pic.
Go Oilers.

Leave a Reply

