Your new Irish Barista Champion….

I’m writing this from my hotel room in Sao Paulo with large jet planes flying by meters from my window. I flew in a few hours ago, and feel quite lucky to have slept most of the direct flight from Frankfurt. You may be wondering how I’m writing yet another post that doesn’t fit what I promised to deliver in the poll a few posts back, but please know that I am writing that one up and will post it soon.

The reason for this post is to congratulate Colin Harmon on becoming the new Irish Barista Champion the day before yesterday. Colin works for Karl Purdy of Coffee Angel, himself a past Irish Champion who placed 15th in Bern. I was fortunate to be the head judge for the finals; a first for me but a task I now treat with a lot more respect – bloody difficult. Colin did a great job especially when he realised his incredible strength and yanked the left pf in so tight that he couldn’t get the right one in on the two group machine. He went to call a technical time out but a second later said he’d just go on, and ended up finishing well under despite having to use just one portafilter for his entire routine. Seems obstacles are to be a theme for Irish Baristas in this competition.

You can read more about Colin’s build up to the competition and I’m sure his preparations for Atlanta here.

I will post either about something from the poll or Brazil soonish.

6 thoughts on “Your new Irish Barista Champion….

  1. colinharmon says:

    Thanks for the kind words Stephen, all the Baristas were really psyched/nervous to see you there judging and it really upped the ante for everyone involved to have you back in town. I’ll try to keep that raw brute strength of mine in check for Atlanta… ;)

  2. breezy says:

    Not bad, but not as good looking as last years champ.

  3. [...] new Irish Barista Champion…. This article was found on flyingthud. Click here to visit the full article on the original website.I’m writing this from my hotel room in Sao Paulo with large jet planes flying by meters from [...]

  4. Coffee Drink says:

    Yea, we want that post soonish too! But congratulations mate on your success! Cheers!

  5. Hey my hearty congratulations to you mate! But I can’t find that post you promised to do at the end of this post. Please help me with the link, if you have posted about Brazil already. And what coffee machine is that behind you?!

  6. I’d be curious to know what the qualifications to win a Barista Championship are?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

